Learn PPC Google AdWords Metrics

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To enhance your knowledge on Google Adwords, these PPC metrics are of great significance. These PPC metrics will help you to know, how your adwords ads are performing in real time so you can easily track if they are achieving the goals you have set for your business growth. What goal you have set for your advertisement determine which Google AdWords metrics you should focus.

Visits 

This is a visit to your site.  A person may view just one or many pages when they visit.

Impressions 

This is how many times your ad is displayed for a given keyword in the given time period.

Clicks 

This is how many times an ad was clicked. In general, this corresponds with Visits, but they may not always match.  For instance, if your ad is displayed but you also show up in the organic listings and someone clicks that link, this will result in a visit without a click.  In another case, a searcher may already be on your website and perform another search in a separate tab or window.  If they click an ad there, it will result in a click, but not an additional visit.

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Cost 

This is the cost of a particular keyword or ad group for the given time.

CTR 
(Click Through Rate)- This metric is computed by taking the number of clicks and dividing by the number of impressions. About 1.75% is the average among all industries, but this will depend on the uniqueness of your keyword.

CPC
(Cost Per Click) – This is the average cost per click for a keyword or an ad group.  It is calculated by taking the Total Cost and dividing the number of clicks.

Conversion
A conversion happens when someone clicks your ad and then takes an action that you’ve defined as valuable to your business, such as an online purchase or a call to your business from a mobile phone.

Conversion Rate
The average number of conversions per ad click, shown as a percentage.
Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad clicks that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
ROI 
Return on Investment – This is computed by dividing RPC(Remote Procedure Call) by Cost, and will result in -100% if there are no Revenue values assigned.

Margin 
This is the margin you have earned based on the Cost and the Revenue.  If the Revenue is 0, the Margin will be 0.00%

CPA
Cost per acquisition is a method of advertising whereby the advertiser only pays when an advert delivers an acquisition. Moreover, CPA is very effective for an advertiser to pay because they only pay when the advertising has met its purpose.

Average Position
The average position helps explain where your ad ranks compared to other ads.

Bid strategy type
Apply different types of bid strategies to manage your bid depending on your performance goals.

Bid Strategy

This column indicates the name of the flexible bid strategy that’s managing bids for the keywords, ad groups or campaigns listed below.

Labels

Labels let you organize keywords, ads, ad groups, campaigns or remarketing lists into groups so that you can filter and report on the data that interests you.

Average Cost per thousand impressions (CPM)
The average amount that you’ve been charged for 1,000 impressions.

Total cost 
The total aggregated cost, which includes total click costs and any other costs, such as phone cost.

Invalid Clicks

Invalid clicks are clicks Google considers illegitimate and doesn’t charge you for.

Invalid click rate
This column provides data on the percentage of clicks filtered out of your total number of clicks (filtered + non-filtered clicks) during the reporting period.

Follows

The Follows column shows a sum total of people who followed you on Google+ directly from a +Post ad.

+1s

The +1s column shows a sum total of all +1s made on each of your +Post ads.

Shares

The Shares column shows a sum total of the times that people reshared your +Post ad.

Comments

The Comments column shows a sum total of people’s comments on each of your +Post ads.

Earned impression

The Earned impressions on social ads column represent the views your posts received from people who shared your content back into the Google+ stream.

Earned social actions
The Earned social actions column represents the total social actions on your original post, from earned impressions.

Phone impression

Phone impressions are the number of times that your ad was shown with a Google forwarding phone number.

Phone calls

Phone calls represent the number of calls received as a result of users clicking on a phone number or manually dialing the Google forwarding phone number displayed in an ad shown on any device. Phone calls are counted regardless of their duration. Phone calls represent the number of calls received as a result of users clicking on a phone number or manually dialing the Google forwarding phone number displayed in an ad shown on any device. Phone calls are counted regardless of their duration. Phone calls represent the number of calls received as a result of users clicking on a phone number or manually dialing the Google forwarding phone number displayed in an ad shown on any device. Phone calls are counted regardless of their duration.

Phone-through rate (PTR)

Phone-through rate (PTR) is the number of phone calls received (Phone calls) divided by the number of times your phone number is shown (Phone impressions).

Phone Cost

The total cost accrued for calls manually dialed to your Google forwarding number. The phone cost does not include charges accrued from mobile clicks-to-call.

Call conversions

shows the number of phone calls longer than your chosen call duration that was dialed manually to Google forwarding numbers.

Search Exact match impression share (IS)

It is the impressions that you’ve received divided by the estimated number of impressions that you were eligible to receive on the Search Network for search terms that matched your keywords exactly.

Search Lost impressions share (rank)

It refers to the estimated percentage of impressions on the Search Network that your ads didn’t receive due to a poor Ad Rank.

Search Lost impression share (budget)

It estimates how often your ad didn’t show on the Search Network due to low budget.

Display Impression share

It is the impressions that you’ve received on the Display Network divided by the estimated number of impressions that you were eligible to receive.

Display Lost impression share (rank)

It is the estimated percentage of impressions on the Display Network that your ads didn’t receive due to poor Ad Rank.

Display Lost impression share (budget)

It estimates how often your ad didn’t show on the Display Network due to low budget.

Relative CTR

measures how your ads perform on Display Network sites compared to other ads on the same sites.

Active view viewable impression

This metric shows the number of viewable impressions served and billed.

This is the number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times that your ad becomes viewable on a webpage.

Active view viewable CTR

This is the number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times that your ad becomes viewable on a webpage.

Active View viewable CTR = Clicks on your ads/Viewable impressions

Active view viewable CPM

Active View average CPM is the average amount that you’ve been charged for 1,000 viewable impressions.

Unique cookies

The column displays the number of unique cookies that were exposed to your ad over a given time period.

Average Impression Frequency per Cookie

This column displays the average number of times a unique cookie was exposed to your ad over a given time period.

All Changes

This column shows the number of changes that have been made to your campaigns or ad groups during your selected date range.

Budget Changes

This column shows the number of budget changes, such as changing the daily budget, that has been made during your selected date range.

Bid changes

This column shows the number of bid changes, such as Max. CPC bid changes, that have been made during your selected date range.

Keyword changes

This column shows the number of keyword changes, such as adding or deleting keywords, that have been made during your selected date range.

Status changes

This column shows the number of status changes, such as pausing keywords, that have been made during your selected date range.

Targeting changes

This column shows the number of targeting changes, such as language or country targeting, that have been made during your selected date range.

Ad changes

This column shows the number of ad changes, such as adding or deleting an ad, that has been made during your selected date range.

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Network changes

This column shows the number of network changes, such as adding Search Partners, that have been made during your selected date range.

Google Adwords Campaign Settings

 

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Campaign name: Edit the name of a particular campaign.

Campaign type: Determines which of the settings and options below you’ll see as you customize your campaign. Tailors the set-up process to just what’s relevant to your goals.

Locations: Target your ads to almost any geographic area. Specify countries, territories, regions, cities, or custom areas where you want your ads to show.

Languages: Target your ads by your customers’ language preference. For example, only customers whose Google Adwords interface language is Spanish will see ads in a campaign targeted to Spanish.

Networks: Determine where on the Internet your ads will show. Ads can appear on Google Adwords’s Search Network or Display Network, or both.

Devices: Campaigns target all types of devices by default. Note that if you have a “Display Network only” campaign, you can target specific operating systems, device models, as well as carriers and wireless networks. To see these options, go to the “Devices” section on your Settings tab, and click advanced mobile and tablet options. If you have a different campaign type and would like to use these targeting options, you might consider creating a “Display Network only” campaign.

Bidding option: Choose automatic or manual bidding for ad clicks (Max. CPC). Advanced options let you choose to pay per thousand impressions (CPM bidding) or set a cost-per-acquisition bid (Conversion Optimizer, CPA bidding).

Tip

You can increase or decrease your bids to gain more control over when and where your ad is shown by setting bid adjustments.

Budget: Adjust your campaign’s daily budget at any time.

Delivery method: Choose either standard or accelerated delivery for your daily budget to determine how quickly your ads are shown each day if your campaign is limited by budget.

“Target and bid”
Restricts your ads to showing the targeting method you’ve selected, like keywords
Allows you to set bids for individual targeting, like $2.00 for buy soccer balls.

Based on your Display keywords, your ads can now show on pages about soccer. However, you want to reach soccer fans specifically, so you target the affinity audience Soccer Fans and set both targeting methods to “Target and bid.”

“Bid only”
Doesn’t restrict your ads to showing the targeting method you’ve selected
Allows you to set bids for individual targeting, like $2.00 for Soccer Fans

Using the same example as above, let’s say you have a preference for your ads to show to soccer enthusiasts but don’t want to limit your ads to this audience.
You decide to do the following:
Set Display keywords as “Target and bid” so your ads are shown based on your keywords.
Set “Interests & Remarketing” to “Bid only” with an increased bid on Soccer Fans to increase the chances your ads will show to people with that affinity audience.

 

To read more on Google Adwords Auction Insight

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